CoonDawgs.com Coonhound Classifieds and Message Forum

It is currently Thu Feb 29, 2024 5:15 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours

Post subject: doesn't stay at tree
PostPosted: Tue Apr 24, 2007 11:11 am 
IP:
Silent Mouth
Silent Mouth

I have a 2 yr male walker, who trails good and will tree, but as soon as I get close to him on the tree he leaves and finds another trail to run. How can I get him to stay on the tree.

Join the forum today and remove this ad!
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Apr 24, 2007 12:48 pm 
IP:
What have you been normally doing when you get to the tree?

Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Apr 24, 2007 6:45 pm 
IP:
Silent Mouth
Silent Mouth

I am just getting into coon hunting and just got the dog. When I get just close enough to see the dog with the light he leaves the tree.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Apr 24, 2007 8:50 pm 
IP:
There are a few thigs to work on with this dog. I am guessing the person who sold you this dog forgot to tell you this about the dog. Sounds to me like the dog is lite shy. Does the dog have a coon in the tree's it is leaving? Or could it be slickin or treeing off game? Try turning your light off when you aproach the tree and go in slow and easy an watch the dog for a while. Then try to just catch it up and tie it off at the tree and praise it up a little if the coon is seen and then lead it off and repeat. The dog could also very easily be gunshy. This is another reason it is leaving when it see's the light coming. You have to go easy with this dog around the tree. Calm, quiet and consistant. It will gain trust and confidence with you and what happens at tree's overall. I have had very good luck breaking lite shy dogs from leaving the tree this way. The dog has to be treeing coon though. If it is treeing junk or slickin cut your losses and move on to another dog.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Apr 24, 2007 8:55 pm 
IP:
Chop Mouth
Chop Mouth