CoonDawgs.com Coonhound Classifieds and Message Forum

It is currently Thu Apr 25, 2024 9:33 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours

Post subject: Finishing a dog on tree?
PostPosted: Tue Jan 16, 2007 5:24 pm 
IP:
Silent Mouth
Silent Mouth

What's the best way to finish a hound on the tree? 2 year old walker is striking and running a track super fast, after my female gets to the tree he's going around like he's checking himself, tracks back to the tree gets on it, jumps on it, bawls and chopps some and then leaves it checking around and back to the tree he goes. How do I get him to stay on the tree? I'm new to the training thing. Thank you, John

Join the forum today and remove this ad!
PostPosted: Tue Jan 16, 2007 5:53 pm 
IP:
BANNED
BANNED

John W. Hardin wrote:
What's the best way to finish a hound on the tree? 2 year old walker is striking and running a track super fast, after my female gets to the tree he's going around like he's checking himself, tracks back to the tree gets on it, jumps on it, bawls and chopps some and then leaves it checking around and back to the tree he goes. How do I get him to stay on the tree? I'm new to the training thing. Thank you, John

I asked that a while back and many people told me that when i get to the tree to chain the dog up to it or around it. Hope it works out..

Pr"Houstons Outlaw Ringo"

Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jan 16, 2007 6:10 pm 
IP:
Silent Mouth
Silent Mouth

i personally dont mind a dog that circles a tree as long as he trees hard enough for me to get to it,,,,out here fox and cats like to jump and sneak out on ya,,,if a dog does some checking and circling its less likely to get away,,,,
however tie the dog up to the tree and eventually he will get the idea

Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jan 16, 2007 6:31 pm 
IP:
Tight Mouth
Tight Mouth